New Shows. Old Music. And First World LoFi.

Eat That Guitar Pac-Man!

I’m excited to be playing a couple sets of music coming up in the next week. For one thing, I’ll be playing some tunes on Monday, September 19th around 8pm at the PATH cafe for a Big City Folk session. These are normally held at the Red Lion but was displaced this week by a charity event. Far be it for me to stand in the way of beneficence. I’ll play for about 30 minutes among a whole lot of very talented music folks.

If you’ve never been to one of these Big City Folk – Niall Connolly events, then you’re missing out. Every Monday (except for the last of the month) at the Red Lion, every Wednesday at Ceol, every Thursday at the PATH Cafe, and every Sunday at the LIC Bar, Niall Connolly and a group of talented folks play a whole lotta free music. If you’re a musician and you want to be among one of the most supportive and talented communities I’ve ever encountered I sincerely encourage you to either contact Niall (try here or here) about playing at one of these things or simply sign up at the Thursday evening PATH Cafe Open mic.

If you’re a music lover and want to meet and listen to some fantastic folks play their tunes and do their stuff, you should just bring your fine self on over to any one of these weekly shindigs. I personally favor Ceol. But that just me.

I am also very excited to be playing again at Bar4 on Saturday the 24th of September at 10pm. I’ll be playing with a talented group of folks including a couple relatively new additions to Brooklyn. Tommy Booker will be playing some piano, Bryan Rogers will be pounding some bass, Justin Storer will be hitting some drums. I’ll be playing an electric guitar. It should be really fun.

I’ve also got an interesting project in the works I’d like to tell you about.

As some of you may know, my major in college was Music Technology – read: Recording. Sadly though, since graduating from my undergraduate institution I’ve been totally without any sort of recording equipment. Largely as a result of being without any sort of money.

To this day, the only thing I have in my apartment that records sounds is an iPad with an internal microphone.

BUT

I have decided I am going to take that iPad and see what it can do. Push it to its limited limits. I’m going to make a series of relatively fleshed out multi-track recordings with an iPad.  The irony is of course that I’ll be making really low quality recordings with a relatively high tech piece of equipment. I will call this music First World LoFi.

How will this turn out? Will I break new ground in the brand new world of First World LoFi? Will I bang my head against the wall and give up in frustration? Will the recordings simply be predictably mediocre crap? We will all have to see together. I will post these recordings as they are completed at http://eatthatguitarchrismichael.bandcamp.com.

Also, if you were to go to that bandcamp address right now, you’d find that there are a handful of tracks available for download. It says name your price, I suggest you take them for free.

One thing is for sure: It’s a brave new world.

About Chris Michael

Eating guitars since 2009.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

